AI & Agentic Systems 8 min read

Scaler vs upGrad AI Course: A Fair Side-by-Side Comparison (2026)

Scaler and upGrad both sell AI programs aimed at working professionals in India, but they are built differently. We compared their flagship AI programs using only their official pages, checked in September 2026, and added ISS as a third, no-code-first option.

Scaler and upGrad AI programs compared side by side
Quick answer: Scaler’s AI & Machine Learning Program with Agentic AI runs 12–15 months and lists a total fee of ₹3,99,000, while upGrad’s Executive PG Programme in Applied AI and Agentic AI with IIIT Bangalore runs 7 months at ₹1,40,000, based on their official pages checked in September 2026. Scaler suits people who want a long, engineering-heavy path with many projects; upGrad suits graduates who want a shorter program with a university certificate. ISS is a third option for people who want to build AI workflows and tools without a coding background, at ₹69,999 for 16 weeks.

Scaler vs upGrad AI course: how do they compare at a glance?

Both companies offer several AI programs. For a fair comparison we picked the one from each that is closest in scope: an applied AI plus agentic AI program for people who want to build with AI. ISS is included with the same fields.

FieldScaler: AI & ML Program with Agentic AIupGrad: Executive PG Programme in Applied AI and Agentic AI (IIIT Bangalore)ISS: AI & Agentic Systems
Duration12 months (advanced track) or 15 months (beginner track)7 months16 weeks
Weekly timeNot stated on the page; check with ScalerAbout 12–15 hoursAbout 12–14 hours
FormatOnline, part-time, live classes, 1:1 mentor supportOnline, recorded lectures plus live expert sessionsLive weekend classes plus a mid-week doubt-clearing session; self-paced material on weekdays
CodingYes: Python, ML, system design, MLOpsYes: Python, PyTorch, LangChain, CrewAI, AWSNo coding degree needed: no-code automation and AI coding tools
Projects8 capstone projects, including a RAG assistant, a no-code agent and LLM fine-tuning with LoRA2 capstones: an end-to-end ML system and a production agentic AI systemWeekly outputs plus a portfolio capstone: automation flow, RAG bot, vibe-coded app and deployment
CertificateScaler completion certificateExecutive PG Programme certificate from IIIT Bangalore, plus executive alumni statusCertificate from Indian School of Skills
Listed fee₹3,99,000 total; EMI from ₹9,791 a month₹1,40,000 total; from ₹6,500 a month₹69,999 (₹66,499 if paid upfront)
Upfront amount₹20,000 upfront commitment (per page)₹10,000 refundable seat reservation depositApplying is free; pay only after accepting an offer
EligibilityTracks for freshers and career switchers through to senior engineers and product leadersBachelor’s or master’s degree with at least 50% aggregate; basic Python recommendedBeginners welcome; admissions call to check fit
Career supportResume review, mock interviews, placement assistance, alumni network1:1 career coaching, resume and interview preparation, job guidanceResume, LinkedIn and portfolio review, mock interviews, job-search guidance; no placement guarantee

All fees are as listed on the official pages in September 2026. Fees and batch details change; check the provider’s current page before you pay.

What does Scaler’s AI program offer?

Scaler’s AI & Machine Learning Program with Agentic AI is a long, engineering-focused program. The beginner track adds a month of Python fundamentals and two months of generative AI foundations before the advanced curriculum. Core modules listed on the page include AI foundations (no code), Python, data foundations, maths for ML, a five-month applied ML block, system design, MLOps, computer vision and NLP.

Strengths: depth and breadth. Eight capstone projects cover classic ML (ETA prediction, fraud detection, feed personalisation) as well as RAG systems, a no-code agent and LLM fine-tuning. Scaler lists 1:1 mentor support from working professionals and a large alumni network. For someone aiming at AI engineer or ML engineer roles, this breadth matters.

Trade-offs: it is the most expensive and the longest of the three. Twelve to fifteen months is a big commitment alongside a full-time job. The page we checked did not state weekly hours, so ask Scaler for the class timetable before you commit.

Explore your next step

Want a shorter, no-code-first route into building with AI?

Compare the ISS curriculum, weekly schedule and ₹69,999 fee with the Scaler and upGrad details above, and pick the one that matches your target role.

View AI & Agentic Systems curriculum →

What does upGrad’s AI program with IIIT Bangalore offer?

upGrad’s Executive PG Programme in Applied AI and Agentic AI is run with IIIT Bangalore. It has two tracks over about 30 weeks. The Applied AI track covers programming for ML and AI, machine learning and deep learning, MLOps, and a capstone ML system. The Agentic AI track covers LLM foundations and RAG, AI system design, agent frameworks and orchestration, and a capstone agentic system.

Strengths: a university certificate from IIIT Bangalore and executive alumni status, at a lower fee and shorter duration than Scaler. The page lists more than 240 hours of content and a clear weekly time estimate of 12–15 hours, which makes planning easier.

Trade-offs: seven months is fast for someone new to Python. upGrad recommends basic Python and offers a complimentary bootcamp for it. There are two capstones rather than many smaller projects, so you may want to build extra portfolio pieces on your own.

upGrad also runs a non-coding option, the Professional Certificate Programme in AI for Business Professionals with IIM Kozhikode (6 months, ₹1,99,000, at least three years of work experience). It targets managers and business leaders rather than builders.

Where does ISS fit as a third option?

ISS takes a different route. The AI & Agentic Systems program is for people who want to build AI workflows and tools without first becoming software engineers. Over 16 weeks it covers AI foundations, prompting and prompt chains, research with citations, content systems, AI design and video, then workflow automation, conversational agents, RAG pipelines and vibe coding. Tools include n8n, Zapier, Make, Cursor, Claude Code, Lovable, Perplexity and NotebookLM.

Strengths: the shortest and lowest-fee option of the three, with live classes every weekend and a mid-week doubt session. No coding degree is needed, and the capstone is a working agentic system you can show in interviews.

Trade-offs: ISS does not teach ML maths, deep learning or model fine-tuning in depth, and it does not issue a university certificate. If your target is an ML engineer role, Scaler or upGrad will fit better. ISS does not guarantee jobs or placement.

Scaler, upGrad or ISS: who should choose which?

Your situationBetter fitWhy
Software developer aiming for AI or ML engineer roles, can commit a yearScalerBroadest engineering curriculum and the most capstone projects
Graduate who wants an engineering-track AI program with a university certificate in under a yearupGrad with IIIT BangaloreUniversity certificate, two focused capstones, clear weekly hours
Manager with 3+ years’ experience who needs AI strategy, not codingupGrad with IIM KozhikodeBusiness-focused, no coding required
Operations, marketing, product or non-tech professional who wants to build automations, AI tools and a portfolio fastISSNo-code and AI coding tools, 16 weeks, lower fee, live feedback

Not sure which kind of AI role you want? Start with our AI career roadmap for India, then compare salaries for those roles in AI salaries in India. If agents are the part that interests you most, read what AI agents are before choosing a program.

What should you check before paying Scaler or upGrad?

  • Total cost. Ask for the full amount across all EMIs, including any taxes.
  • Refund terms. Neither page we checked stated a refund policy clearly. Get it in writing before paying the upfront amount.
  • Live timetable. Ask for days and times of live classes and whether sessions are recorded.
  • Placement figures. If a placement report is shared, ask what share of learners it covers and over what period.
  • Prerequisites. Be honest about your Python level. A strong program is wasted if the pace is too fast for you.

For more comparisons, see generative AI courses in India compared and AI course fees in India.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for AI, Scaler or upGrad?

Neither is better for everyone. Scaler’s AI and ML program is longer (12 to 15 months) and broader, with 8 capstone projects, and suits people aiming for AI or ML engineer roles. upGrad’s program with IIIT Bangalore is shorter (7 months), costs less and gives a university certificate. Choose based on your goal, time and coding level.

What is the Scaler AI course fee?

Scaler’s AI and Machine Learning Program with Agentic AI listed a total of ₹3,99,000, with EMI from ₹9,791 a month and a ₹20,000 upfront commitment, on its official page checked in September 2026. Check Scaler’s current page before paying.

What is the upGrad AI course fee?

upGrad’s Executive PG Programme in Applied AI and Agentic AI with IIIT Bangalore listed a total of ₹1,40,000, from ₹6,500 a month, with a ₹10,000 refundable seat reservation deposit, on its official page checked in September 2026.

Do Scaler or upGrad AI courses need coding?

Yes. Both flagship AI programs use Python. Scaler’s beginner track adds a month of Python fundamentals, and upGrad recommends basic Python and offers a complimentary bootcamp. If you want to build AI workflows without coding, a no-code focused program such as ISS AI & Agentic Systems is an alternative.

Is ISS a cheaper alternative to Scaler and upGrad?

ISS costs ₹69,999, or ₹66,499 if paid upfront, for a 16-week live program. It is not a like-for-like replacement: ISS focuses on no-code automation, RAG bots and AI-built apps, while Scaler and upGrad teach Python-based ML engineering. ISS does not guarantee placement.

Sources and methodology

Method: we compared one flagship AI program from each provider using only details on their official pages in September 2026. Where a page did not state something (for example Scaler’s weekly hours or either provider’s refund terms), we say so rather than guess. The “who should choose” guidance is the ISS Editorial Team’s judgement. We have no commercial relationship with Scaler or upGrad.

Next steps

If a no-code-first, live 16-week format suits you better than a year-long engineering track, compare the AI & Agentic Systems curriculum with the two programs above.

You can apply for free, talk through your goals on an admissions call, and decide after you see an offer.

Get side-by-side course comparisons by email

Fair, dated comparisons of AI, data and marketing programs in India, built from official pages. Occasional emails, unsubscribe any time.